Detoxin’

May was a hard month for goals. I literally “failed” every single goal with the exceptions of reading more-if you count magazines and relaxing. Let’s recap…

Finish 100 miles in May…Failure. I only finished 73.6. I got my 50 running miles in but fell short on biking.

Get abs…Failure. Although I did keep up with Bess’s Abs challenge she pointed out that abs are made in the kitchen and you saw what I ate all month!

Take yoga class…Failure. But really I was in my yoga clothes at the yoga studio and found out that the class was canceled because it was memorial day. Can’t say I didn’t try!

I could go on but I don’t what you’re thinking…this is so not positive and I try to hard to be positive! In case you couldn’t guess I haven’t exactly been succeeding with that recently either! Surprise!

But for the month on June I’ve decided to hold myself more accountable and after a week of eating delicious but not exactly healthy food in Michigan I knew exactly where I needed to start! It was detox time! Now please don’t go thinking that I am drinking only juice and water because that is so not me! I need real food to be satisfied but that was just it I need real food not a whole bunch of ice cream junk. I also figured it was the perfect time since June marks the middle of the year! I cut out desserts and fried food in January after the holiday season so it was high time for me to do it again! This time with more of a guideline and here is what I came up with.

Grace’s Detox

  • Eliminate white flour and sugar. I’m still eating my beloved carbs just in their whole grain form!
  • Go dairy-free. I never noticed how much dairy I eat until I can’t eat it but soy milk is helping me with my cereal fix.
  • No desserts
  • No fried foods
  • No alcohol Do I really drink it that much…no but the drinks I enjoy contain lots of sugar!
  • Focus on fruits, vegetables, whole grain, and healthy forms of protein!

Here are a few of my dinner on my detox! Salad, Coucous with brocoli, and black beans...This might be a detox but I was stuffed after this and didn't even finish all of my food!

Last night Aunt Jen made an awesome healthy pasta dish with whole wheat spaghetti. mixed fresh veggies, tomatoes, and she even grilled me up some shrimp with their usual chicken:)

I am not quite sure if this makes sense to anyone else besides myself but I am doing pretty good at following it! I do have a few rule benders though…

  • If it is once in a lifetime eat then stick to the three bite rule.

What this means is…if I think I won’t get a chance to try a certain food that I shouldn’t eat according to my detox ever again than I may eat three bites of it. The three bite rule is something Mom learned in Weight Watchers and I think it makes perfect sense! The first bite, the middle bite, the last bite….that way you savor every bite and don’t just gobble it down without appreciating it. I have used this rule once already. When I arrived at Aunt Jen’s house at midnight on thursday she immediately brought out White Chocolate Bread Pudding she had ordered at a fancy restaurant called Chuck’s here in Birmingham. She bought it just for me and Rob so I thought it would be rude if I didn’t try any, great excuse right, I also decided probably would never get the chance to eat it again so I used my three bites rules and it was delish!

Not sure that this is the most appealing picture but my three bites were amazing!

I also made a rule about exercise the I only just started following Saturday night…

  • Sweat everyday.

This is not difficult seeing as I start sweating as soon as I walk outside! But seriously I want to do a workout everyday even if it is a small one! Saturday night I did Bob Harper’s Inside Out Method Cardio DVD and he kicked my butt! I had only done the 20 minute workout but my 9-year-old cousins Jose wanted to do the hour workout and then the 20 minute workout! She is gymnast what can I say! I’ve been sore for the last two days and I keep complaining but I secretly like it because I know I worked hard!

Here we are wiped out on the floor of the gym after...

Last night I logged 30 minutes on the arc trainer and tonight I’m going to some Jillian Michaels yoga and some more time on the arc trainer! I’m trying to get up the courage to run in the heat since I haven’t run in almost a week!

We spent all morning after John David’s swimming lesson, he has them all week so I’ll take some picture of the “big boy”, at the pool and now we’re cleaning up and getting ready to go see…..

I am so excited to spend some time with my favorite Captain!

Questions for You!

What do you do when your feeling like a failure?

Do you ever had “cheats” or rule benders into your diets? If so what is something that would qualify for my three bite rule?

Are you a Pirates fan? I personally love most things that Disney puts out but Pirates had always captivated me and left me feeling in a Caribbean mood for days after the movie! Hope this one is the same:)

20 thoughts on “Detoxin’

  1. After reading this I am certain you are not a failure! May was a rough month for me with “goals” too, so don’t feel bad!

    As for the no-dairy: have you ever tried almond milk? I’m obsessed with it! It might be a nice alternative if you get tired of soy!

    And that bread pudding looks amazing!

  2. Yummy! That pasta dish doesn’t look like a detox dish at all! It looks pretty tasty to me! Oh yeah, and I definitely believe in the whole three bite rule…except I am not sure I could have showed any self control on that bread pudding!! 🙂

  3. you’re not a failure! sometimes we get off track, but it sounds like you have a great plan to get back to business. 🙂

    i loved the first pirates movies and have seen the other ones, but didn’t love them nearly as much.

  4. It’s not really failing – plus, you were busy this month that working on the goals may haven’t been first priority.
    I think your detox sounds great. I always feel amazing after getting back on track with healthy eating.

  5. Try Almond Milk, Grace. I have trouble with eating too much soy and this is a great alternative (in my opinion). I buy the Almond Breeze 60 calorie version by Blue Diamond … yum.

    On to dairy free ice cream … try Chocolate Hazelnut Fudge Coconut Bliss by Luna & Larrys. Absolute heaven!!! I also hear the Cherry Amaretto Coconut Bliss is very good but have not tried it. I tried some from Blue Mountain Cashew Creamery but was not a fan.

    Love the 3 bite rule … thanks for sharing 🙂

    Quinoa is a great option also (for grain and protein). I will share a recipe with you that I think you will like via your mom :-).

    • Thanks for all the tips Lisa! I haven’t had any trouble with soy yet…I tried almond milk and didn’t like it as much because it was thicker and I am used to skim milk with is so thin. I’m excited to try some dairy free ice cream but it currently counts as “dessert” 😦 I love quinoa and would love a new recipe!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Another good alternative to soy is rice milk. I don’t like the way soy milk taste but I do enjoy rice milk, give it a go!

  6. I think it’s amazing that you even set goals and tried to accomplish them. Don’t be so hard on yourself! When I fail I think of a new way that I can try at it again and keep pushing forward 🙂

  7. I don’t think you’re a failure at all. It is so difficult to cut out dairy and white flour / sugar when companies sneak them into almost everything!
    As for Pirates – I’m totally hooked as well 🙂 Although that last one was shot in Hawaii, and I was just there on my honeymoon, so I was just dying to go back the whole movie… ha

    • I know…I keep forgetting how much stuff has everything I cannot eat in it! I know how people with food sensitivities feel! I am so jealous that you have been to Hawaii! The scenery in the movie beautiful!

  8. Good luck with your goals! I found your blog through Meals and Miles and wanted to say congratulations since I live in Orlando and was a PR major as well (but from UF)! I’m sure the Barre class will be great for your June goals!

Leave a Reply

