Welcome to Ludington:)

I’ve arrived to destination #2, Ludington, Michigan! We’ve been very busy already! and since tomorrow night is graduation I don’t see any real “relaxing” in our future until after then…

Wednesday-a.k.a. Road Trip #2

My favorite part of the trip to Michigan...seeing Windmills! It always reminds me of Europe:)

Road food...Subway is always a solid vegetarian option when traveling when you're in the middle of nowhere. This one had breakfast all day so an Egg White Flatbread was in order!

Uh Oh! I spy another Starbucks scone:) This one is pumpkin...I miss pumpkin!

I tried an Iced Green Tea…and it was worse than iced chai:( I’ll stick to Black Tea from Starbucks I guess…

When we arrived in town we visited a Ludginton must-Jamesport Brewing Co.! My brother, the graduate, works there and so does my step brother who just finished creating their new menu! He recommended the Pomegranate Margarita! Since I hadn't eaten in a while it caught up with me FAST! Good thing I had someone stealing sips:)

Jason also suggested the Vegetarian Pesto Sandwich- It had artichoke, spinach, tomato, mozzarella, and basil pesto on ciabatta- it was great and very fresh tasting.

Jamesport's dishwasher turned pastry chef had made Double Stuffed Cookies and Cream Cheesecake...how could we resist?

Today

While everyone was prepping for Drew's Open House/ Graduation Party Rob and I were left with nothing to do so we walked onto Ludington Ave. and visited the local coffee shop, Redolencia.

The atmosphere in Redolencia is very relaxed and my Chai Tea was absolutely perfect:) I foresee us going back there since we are here for a week!

Aunt Erin, Gigi- my grandmother, and I grabbed some lunch at Blu Moon Cafe in town before doing a little shopping. This is my ultimate grilled cheese-mozzarella, american, provolone, and tomato on parmesan encrusted sourdough break with a cup of tomato basil soup. Delish!

I did some damage at the Hallmark Store:) I loved this sign they had up!

The weather was looking optimistic for the first time so I decided to squeeze in a run before heading to the Open House.

It was chilly at 2 pm and especially difficult when I was running into the wind. But hey, I'll take chilly and windy over hot and humid any day!

Here I am... looking bald:)

It was nice to meet some of Drew's friends at his Open House- they were a very funny group! Look what they did to poor Nanner!

Tonight's dinner was at another local favorite spot-House of Flavors!

There is literally a huge dairy where they make their own ice creams connected to the restaurant!

I love when breakfast is served all day! Vegetarian Scramble with mushrooms, onions, green peppers, broccoli, asparagus, and tomato! They even served their toast with house made strawberry preserves:)

Every meal comes with a scoop of ice cream! This is a very large scoop of Ultimate Peanut Butter Brownie in a waffle cone. Uh-mazing!

I am feeling pretty sleepy! I guess it’s been a long day even if it looks like all I did was eat all day. I think being cold for a good portion of my day sucked away a lot of my energy…I’m a Florida girl I guess! Sweet Dreams:)

Questions for You!

What is your go to road food? I would really prefer a Panera over a Subway-I always want a big salad!

Do you make an effort to frequent local joints when you travel? Tell me one unique place from one of your trips!

Did you have a party for your high school graduation? I had a big party with family and friend at my house 3 years ago! Mom and Gramma did a wonderful making tons of Italian Food and there was cupcakes, carrot cake, and chocolate covered strawberries:) Rob was in charge of music and entertainment-ping pong and arcade basketball! While I took millions of pictures with everyone and anyone who came to congratulate me:)

My carrot cake!

Me and Josie at the end of my graduation day...wiped out!

10 thoughts on “Welcome to Ludington:)

  1. Looks like you guys are having so much fun! I love reading about your adventures/roadtrip! 🙂 My to-go go-to restaurant is Panera too! I love all the options on their menu, and I always feel satisfied when I leave.

  2. I didn’t know they had pumpkin scones during the off season! Yum!

    What is your go to road food? Me too, I love Panera!

    Do you make an effort to frequent local joints when you travel?
    There were some pretty neat family-owned restaurants that I had a chance to discover in Italy.

    Did you have a party for your high school graduation?
    Yeah! I wasn’t a huge fan of it as I’m not one for a ton of attention, but seeing family and friends was fun!

  3. Awwww…..your cake is the best! You’re right…..we do have loads of windmills over here! Everyone complains about them because they “ruin the landscape” but I kinda like em! Wind generated energy can’t be a bad thing 🙂

  4. are you from ludington?!? i’m from manitowoc. SO many of my friends worked on the carferry when we were in high school (my fiance actually did too!).

    i’ve taken the carferry across to ludington many times. 🙂

    • No, I’m not actually from Ludington…my brother and sister have lived here for almost 10 years I think. I figured someone would know where I was talking about though:) I’ve never been in the car ferry but it’s pretty cool to watch it soon around! One of my brothers friends bartends on it though!

  5. Looks like you have enjoyed some delicious food! Checking out new restaurants and local places is always fun. As I have gotten older I have been way more open to trying new and different foods and discovered lots of things that I actually like!
    The windmills are so cool! I had only ever seen them on TV, but on the drive to Chicago we passed through a huge field in Indiana. So interesting and green! 🙂

Leave a Reply

