Responsibilities.

Oh right I have those. This week has been a stark contrast to last week. I went from playing in the sunshine pretending to be a tourist to running around in business attire trying not to be poured on.

Official Interview Outfit. It was worn for all 4! Not rain friendly.

It should be called a windstorm because "thunder" didn't knock over my plants...

It literally poured all day Monday but since I stayed inside the whole entire day studying for a test I was alright with it. Until I had to go take the test of course…I was prepared and had on rose covered  rain boots, an Adidas windbreaker/raincoat thing, and was carrying a butterfly covered umbrella. I’m sad I don’t have a picture but I’m sure the mental picture is enough for you to understand why some butt-head guy mockingly whistled at me while I was walking by. It was alright though because I was dry and warm once I got inside!

As I mentioned in the last few posts I had a great response from Intern Pursuit! Eight business’s got back to me without me even sending them a cover letter! So far I’ve only set up 4 interviews…. and now they’re done! My first interview was yesterday morning and I have to admit I was pretty nervous for that one since it was the first one I’ve had since last fall. They were very nice so I feel okay about it. After my interview I headed to work at the Science Center. It was a day primarily full of research and phone calls. Which would have been fine if I hadn’t developed some weird type of dizziness by midday.

I like to self diagnosis so naturally being dizzy means I have diabetes. After work, during my grocery trip to Publix, I decided to make sure I didn’t actually have diabetes at one of those blood pressure chairs. Not a great idea. Apparently having the crud squeezed out of your arm makes you feel even more dizzy. I was 112/63, which is apparently normal. No diabetes?

I made a conscious decision to relax last night since I was tired and dizzy, plus I knew today was going to be busy and stressful! I made myself dinner and watched a Redbox I had already had for 2 days. It feels so nice to sit down and watch a movie, and really watch the movie not try to watch it while cleaning, doing homework, or blogging.

Strawberry Salad Kit. It was easy and yummy:)

Couscous with a little soyaki sauce and roasted green beans...so delish. Tonight it's on repeat!

If only A's were actually easy!

Remember how I compared myself to Rapunzel in Tangled. I also found one particular comparison between me and Olive, the main character from easy A.

You coud find me doing something similar to this any given weekend during my high school career, except I didn’t have a puppy to keep me company. Yes, I know I am really cool.

There were also a few notable quotes! I love movie quotes!

Olive: Whatever happened to chivalry? Does it only exist in 80’s movies? I want John Cusack holding a boombox outside my window. I wanna ride off on a lawnmower with Patrick Dempsey. I want Jake from Sixteen Candles waiting outside the church for me. I want Judd Nelson thrusting his fist into the air because he knows he got me. Just once I want my life to be like an 80’s movie, preferably one with a really awesome musical number for no apparent reason. But no, no, John Hughes did not direct my life. Agreed.

Olive: Let the record show that I, Olive Penderghast, being of sound mind and below average breast-size, swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth… starting now. Agreed on the breast size.

Olive: Due to his “condition,” Micah was sent on an extended visit to his grandparents’ in Palatka, Florida. And if there’s one thing worse than chlamydia, it’s Florida. LOL!

And I just love Emma Stone.

I thoroughly enjoyed relaxing but unfortunately the dizziness didn’t subside until this morning. It’s been on and off today also but after looking at a calendar I did some more self diagnosis. It is probably a monthly related issue if you know what I mean. I survived having 3 interviews in 3 different parts of the city and have my fingers crossed that one of companies pulls through and offers me an internship for next fall! I felt way more confident in my interviews today, I just don’t want to get myself to excited about anything=/

 

I’m off to relax and be semi productive at the same time. All my funny shows are on tonight!

 

Modern Family Love!

Questions for You!

How’s the weather “in your neck of the woods?”

Do you have to “plan” to relax in order to actually relax?

How do you manage your expectations for things like interviews? The waiting game is the worst!

Do you watch Modern Family? If not what are your funny show suggestions?

 

 

14 thoughts on “Responsibilities.

  1. The weather certainly has been a bit crazy here. I drove through some hail this afternoon!
    Relaxing evenings are so nice. Easy A is totally a great movie too. I love all the quotes you pulled from it.
    Everyone keeps telling me Modern Family is awesome; I guess I need to get to watching it. I am a BIG fan of How I Met Your Mother -such a good, funny show!
    My fingers are crossed for you on the internship front and hope you are feeling better! 🙂

  2. Crazy weather. I am sorry about your plants. That sucks. 😦 Congratulations on your interviews! That is awesome. My tip for interview is not thinking they are an interview, but like talking to an old friend. I always feel a little pressure, but once I smile and start talking and asking questions (They love when you ask questions). Even if you don’t have any , make one up. Remember, always follow your gut! 🙂 You will do just fine.

  3. I get dizzy quite frequently. I fainted three times last year, which obviously sent me to the doctor..I was diagnosed with a “condition” caused by low blood pressure. There is no actual cure for it, I just need to make sure that I drink plenty of water (I drink way over 8 glasses a day anyway), eat small meals throughout the day, and I can’t let myself get overheated (especially when working out). It gets worse around that time of the month too, so I self-diagnosed myself with anemia, but no, doctor said it was still low blood pressure. I’m not sure that helps you at all, but just wanted to let you know that I can relate! Oh…and I loved the movie “Easy A”! (sorry for the novel)

  4. I LOVE MODERN FAMILY! I am seriously obsessed. I wrote a critical analysis essay on Modern Family for my communication and gender class 🙂

    Also, I really like your interview outfit- I have an interview tomorrow and do not know what to wear!

  5. Look at you go! That’s amazing that you have all of those interviews, CONGRATS! Weather has been awful here recently. I wake up every morning with “rain rain go away” stuck in my head 😉 I’m so glad you enjoyed my guest post today on Carrie’s blog! I loved your comment 🙂

  6. I LOVE Easy A! Probably because I would love for my life to be like an 80’s movie directed by John Hughes. Sixteen Candles is one of my all time favorite movies.

    The weather in Minnesota apparently hasn’t gotten the memo that it’s spring yet because it’s snowing today. I’m so ready for warmer weather.

    I just started watching Modern Family a few months ago and I think it’s hilarious. After discovering Modern Family, I decided to give Cougar Town a chance too and fell in love with it.

  7. Nothing like good ol’ Florida “thunder” storms. When I left Florida and moved “up north” (to Virginia), I really missed the thunderstorms. I love lightning and huge cracking thunder. Ahhh.

    Interviews. Well, I had to interview for my current job just about exactly a year ago. I was pregnant and unemployed. The office was in Colorado, so I was at a higher than normal altitude. I woke up at 3:30 AM and flew out of DC at 6:00 AM to Colorado and had interviews that whole day. I was horribly (as yet undiagnosed) anemic. I could barely function, let alone answer questions. But I got the job, woo hoo!

    I can’t believe people your age have seen those movies you referenced. Can’t Buy Me Love. Patrick Dempsey, that’s about the only good role he ever had until Grey’s Anatomy. Good things come to those who wait?

  8. Great job on the interviews girl. I am in the process of looking for jobs and it is freaking me out.

    I tend to self diagnose too, if I have a sharp abdominal pain I have a kidney stone..yeah I am dramatic like that!

    It has been a dreary scene here all week. We have rain tomorrow and then weekend is sunny and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

