Mantra..mantra…mantra.

Before I get into my search for a mantra I would like to share something I read on My Journey to Healthy

“Courage: it’s so much easier said than done. I’ve been trying my best to be brave and take more chances and risks, but I still fear failure. I want to gain the confidence to have natural courage in me, so I won’t have to deal with the could’ve, would’ve, and should’ves. We have to take each day as if it is our last, we can not live in fear anymore. We have to put ourselves out there even if it’s uncomfortable at least we know we tried. Living with no regrets of missed opportunities.”

I fear failure everyday of my life, which I think is a reason why I try to control everything. But the truth is we are never really in control of what is going on, we are only in control of the way we react to it. I sweat the small stuff, frequently. But that is not how I want to live my life! I want to live courageously! When I started my 40 day quest for positivity I knew I needed a mantra or a few and I noticed something when I looked around my living space….I’m pretty darn good with surrounding myself with positive messages!

Bathroom mirror=)

I'm pretty clumsy and stumble often but who cares, this is my dance!

I always share what's in my ❤

Always.

It's amazing what kind words, a kind demeanor, and kind smile can do=)

This is my newest addition, thank you Aunt Jen!

I think I’ve decided that my mantra is…

Celebrate Everything!

Even if something doesn’t go as planned I can find one positive thing about every situation, so far at least.

I'm celebrating creating a pretty breakfast! Soda bread, one piece with pb and one with cherry jam=)

I’m also celebrating figuring out that strawberries don’t taste good on soda bread. They taste good by themselves and soda bread pb&j rocks!
I’m celebrating my mess. It’s mine, I choose to make it, and also chose not to clean it up . Although tonight I’m celebrating finally finishing cleaning up my mess!

 

So here is to celebrating everything…I have a feeling I’ll be repeating that to myself frequently.

Questions for You!

Do you fear failure or do you consider yourself courageous?

What us your mantra?

What are you celebrating right now?

16 thoughts on “Mantra..mantra…mantra.

    • No, thank you for letting me share your words! Like I said I haven’t exactly been able to put what I wanted to say into words and you said it perfectly! Thank you again for sharing and being an inspiration in your journey!

      • awe no problem! Thankyou for being such great support, I look up to beautiful women like you! Your journey through life will be amazing, stay strong. ❤

  1. What a lovely post! that is a great mantra to settle upon. Like you, I fear failure. It used to be every single day – exams, not being good enough in general, failing to please people or do things to meet my high (and unrealistic) expectations of myself. It’s hard being a perfectionistic type of person because you often set yourself up for failure and then live each day felling like you’re not good enough. Luckily, I’ve loosened up a little since I left university and I feel more at ease with lowering my standards sometimes…..I still have a huge streak of the old days running through me though! It’ll never leave – and I don’t want it to. It helps me treat my patients with the care and attention to detail they deserve 🙂

  2. I love the quote and all the mantras.
    Celebrate everything is a great one!
    I used to be more afraid of failure…now I see that it doesn’t help anything. In fact, taking risks (where there’s more chance of failure) often leads to more success!

    I helped out my nephew’s class this year making gingerbread houses, and whenever a kid was about to have a meltdown about something (like they broke the roof on their house or something), the teacher would say “Little Deal!” with a big smile on her face, and then go about fixing whatever it was. I find myself saying that once in a while—like picking the longest line at the store or getting all the way to the tailor’s and he’s left a note on the door that he’ll be back later…Little Deal!!
    I say it in my head in my best second grade teacher voice…and it takes the edge of 🙂

  3. This is a great post!

    I use many mantras when I’m running, but the one that got me through my marathon was “Pain is temporary, but quitting is forever”. Also, the one that got me through training was “Pain is inevitable, but misery is optional”

  4. I love this! I think everyone fears failure. It’s a part of being a successful human being – that fear drives me to be my best. I learned in a biopsych class that feelings of nervousness and excitement are physiologically the same thing. So when I get nervous, I tell myself that I’m actually excited. It really works! 🙂

  5. I like your mantra – I fear failure and like you, try to control way too much. I would love to take a step back and celebrate everything – even the little things. Like today, it was a gorgeous day in NYC. 🙂

  6. What a great mantra to have 🙂 Those signs and pictures are super motivating!

    Your ‘celebrating my mess’ comment actually made me feel so much better… I was thinking about how sloppy my apartment is right now and who know when I’ll get around to cleaning it.

  7. I love this post. I can COMPLETELY relate, as I tend to sweat the small stuff, too! (well, I used to at least). Anxiety runs in my family, and I feel like in college I’d let little things get to me (like having a huge test or paper coming up) and I’d just hole up and study study study until I felt like I had mastered the material. Now that I’ve been in the real world for 2 years, I feel like I’ve been able to enjoy life more! And now that I’m back in grad school, I feel like I’ve been able to strike a balance with school work and real-life… but, my anxiety does peep up every now and then. Mantras like yours help a lottttt!

Leave a Reply

