These Irish Eyes..

…are sleepy!

I'm even wearing green pj's! No pinches for me, thank you!

 

But I suppose they’re still smiling, too! You decide… because frankly I think I look tired and pasty, but that’s not very positive is it! At least I really am Irish so I have an excuse for being pale in all seasons!

I wanted to share two recipes with you tonight, before St. Patrick’s Day is over! That being said these recipes just happen to be appropriate at all times of the year!

Let’s start with…

Pot ‘O Gold Cookies ( or at all other times, Pig Out Cookies!)

Try to eat just one...it's impossible. That is why their "other" name is pig out cookies. I only ate three small pieces, the ugly ones,...go me!

You’ll need:

Saltine Crackers
1 C. Butter
1 C. Brown Sugar
12 oz. milk chocolate chips or chocolate bar (or any chocolate of your liking really, I used semi-sweet chips)
Festive Toppings! (such as sprinkles or nuts, I stuck with green sugar since I was sharing these and wary of nut allergies)
Here’s How You Make Them:

1. Line a regular cookie sheet with tin foil.

2. Melt your butter over low heat in a medium saucepan.

3. Brush some of the melted butter on your tin lined cookie try, then line the tray with a single layer of saltine crackers.

Crackers. As you can see I break the ones around the edges so they fit, whether like it or not!

4. Add the brown sugar to your sauce pan and increase the heat to medium high. Bring the mixture to a nice bubbling boil but stay nearby and stir often since this mixture burns easily when not watched! Allow the mixture to bubble for about 3-4 minutes, it will start wafting a nice buttery smell and that’s when you know it’s ready!

Ohhh...butter and sugar.

5. Take your saucepan off the heat and pour the mixture over the crackers, make sure they’re all covered, and bake at 375 degrees for 7 minutes.

Interesting combo...this is before the baking.

6. Once out of the oven, let the crackers settle for about 3 minutes then evenly sprinkle, or place, your chocolate a top the crackers. As the chocolate melts, swirl and spread. Sprinkle with your toppings of choice, then place in the refrigerator or freezer, if you’re crazy impatient like me!

Chocolate... the icing on the pot 'o gold cookies!

7. Once the “cookie” is in a solid state lift it off the cookie sheet and carefully peel off the foil, make sure you get it all because no one likes tin foil in their pot of gold! Break into squares, package, and get them our of your house before you eat them all!

All packed up and ready to be handed out! Luckily it was pretty easy to peddle them all out at my internship, no leftovers to tempt me!

In other news…I got a $1 sub today! It was Jimmy John’s Customer Appreciation Day and even though I packed my lunch I headed out with my fellow interns Leanna and Sam to grab a sub, I’ll blame it on the fact that I don’t like being left out and can’t deny a deal like that! My Kashi frozen meal will live another day!

They really were freaky fast...considering the line was at least 15 people long!

First no-meat sub. I dub this "cheesy delicious-ness." Next time I'm asking for extra lettuce and cucumbers though!

When I came home tonight I remembered why I was running a little late to my internship this morning. I had too many green options!

After a run and some yoga I decided to make my next St. Patty’s recipe Irish Wheaten Bread.Lucky for you I snagged this delicious recipes from the ladies over at Our Best Bites. They have a beautifully, non iPhone, photographed step by step tutorial for his recipe! I knew you’d miss my commentary so I still have some badly lit iPhone pictures  with silly captions for you!

 

Failure on the kneading front but no worries...

 

that is what loaf pans are for!

If you're truly Irish you must slather this bread in lots of butter...like so. Unfortunately it was Land 'O Lakes Light not Kerrygold. Oh, how I love Kerrygold.

 

I’d like to leave you with a midnight St. Patty’s Day wish…

My Irish blessing...for You!

 

Questions for You!

What did you do to celebrate St. Patty’s Day?

What is your favorite Irish food? I haven’t had too much Irish fare but Kerrygold products are amazing, I love soda bread, and anything that contains potato is a favorite of mine!

What is your descent? Have you ever been to “the homeland”? I’m English and Irish, of course I’m dying to go to Ireland and England! I want to go a lot of places if you haven’t noticed!


 

17 thoughts on “These Irish Eyes..

  1. I have a had a cookie similar to that and totally love them! Not quite the same, but same idea. I haven’t had a lot of Irish food, so I don’t have a fave, but I should work on that!
    I’m part Irish, and part English….and parts of a lot of other things too, so unfortunately I don’t really identify much with any of them!

  2. I’m German, Polish, English, Irish, and French. So maybe it’s funny that the first place I’d like to visit in Europe is Italy? Then I will have to go to Germany, Poland, England, Ireland, and France. I just should’ve skipped college and backpacked through Europe instead ;).

    • Sounds like a plan to me! Do you need a travel partner? I’ve already been to Germany and France so I might be some help or not since my dad navigated and drove the whole time we were there=)

    • Be careful! It’s great to make the cookies and enjoy them just make sure you have someone to share with and it won’t be a problem! Also, since you like saltines I found this cool new box that has about 6 mini sleeves so you can open a mini sleeve and not worry about making a whole entire package stale=)

  3. Omgosh, I love that you posted that cookie recipe. Those are SO good. My friend’s mom used to make us a similar version every time our dance team had a competition… it was a tradition. YUM!

  4. I’ve made those before and I call them Skor bars! Soo good and addictive. I could eat way too many and they are dangerous! Your bread looks so yum and the melting butter is making me drool.

  5. Pingback: Better Late than Never « Living, Learning, Earning

Leave a Reply

