Massage Mood Swings?

I FINALLY got a massage this morning and it was pretty heavenly. I’ve been telling my counselor, and myself, that I was going to get one since October because I hold a lot of tension in my neck, shoulders, and back. As you can tell it is now March, I’m clearly really good at prioritizing my physical health, not. After running the half marathon my legs were added to the lisyof sore body parts, I knew it would only be a matter of time before I finally got my massage!

I heard about Massage Envy because one was recently built in my hometown, I realized there was one near my school, too! They have an intro massage for only $39, I called last weekend and made an appointment!

This morning my massage was great, although it was a little rough when she got to my back and shoulders. I’m a huge wimp when it comes to having my back rubbed, I’m super sensitive and only professionals don’t hurt me. As I left I signed up for their membership program where you pay $49 dollars a month and get one hour-long massage, non-membership price is $65.The great thing is there is also a Massage Envy in Port Orange, my hometown, and Birmingham, where I’ll be for a large part of the summer, so I can have my monthly massages at those locations, too! I‘m really hoping it will help since I wake up almost every morning with pain somewhere, I’m 21 that can’t be right…right?

I left Massage Envy in a great mood and practically skipped to Target to spend way too much money pick up a few things! Here are a few of my purchases…

 

I found the perfect invitations for Rob's sister, Rochelle's, baby shower!

and adorable thank you cards to match!

I also picked these up since everyone has been talking about them!

 

Many more purchases went un-pictured…I have no will power in Target which is why I only allow myself to go every month or so. When I got back from my apartment after my long Target trip I was starving! I ate lunch, which consisted of roasted broccoli, an apple and pb, and an egg white scramble with roasted turnips mixed in…I don’t think I like roasted turnips for the record.

 

Roasted turnips, not for me.

but roasted brocoli is!

 

After I ate lunch I all of the sudden felt so tired! I know that can happen after a big meal but it isn’t like I had a heavy lunch. It was the weirdest thing. I tried to get some homework done on the computer but could hardly keep my eyes open, it was about 1:30. I laid for one. second. just to see how it felt, and I woke up 30 minutes later, panicked, and rushed to get ready for my class. Even though I was awake… I didn’t feel really awake until about 6.

 

Taken around 6pm when my crazy self staring feeling more awake! I was ironically enough on my way to Starbucks for a coffee to make sure I didn't fall asleep during my next class!

 

My muscles have also been a little sore today and I snapped at poor Rob a few times, too. I’m officially dubbing  this a massage induced, mood swing filled day. I know that massages release all kinds of stuff into your system, they tell you to drink lots of water but apparently when it’s been three years since your last massage lots of stuff is released. All that stuff makes you act like a crazy bi-polar person, but I guess that’s not all that different from any day for me! It’s currently an hour passed my bedtime and I’m taking my moody booty to bed!

Questions for You!

Have you had a massage? Did it make you feel like a freak?

Have you done any Jillian Michael’s exercises? I was told not to exercise for 24 hours, I’ll have to give her a shot Friday since tomorrow is a running day!

What is your favorite roasted vegetable? Broccoli and  green beans  are so yummy roasted but really my favorite is roasted potatoes, so healthy!

24 thoughts on “Massage Mood Swings?

  1. I have a lot of aches, and muscle and joint issues (pretty sad, at 22 years old), so I go to the chiropractor. I usually feel tired after going, and I think it’s because I try to do too much too soon. Keep drinking lots of water and make sure you don’t workout until the 24 hours is up (I’ve tried not listening to that rule, and I’ve gotten sick- my own fault, I know).

    We have Massage Envy around here and I always wondered if it was worth trying! I think it would do my body (and my mind) some good if I could release some toxins. Your session was less expensive than my chiropractor appointments, so it might be worth a try!

  2. I loooove massages but can’t swing the price tag very often. I wish my insurance would cover it. 😉 I am the same way in Target – no control! They must spray something in the air to make people lose all willpower!

    • That has to be what they do! The reason I am swinging the price tag on a massage is because I’m hoping it will be good for me…and I’ve stopped doing other expensive things like getting my hair highlighted. Which leaves me with ugly hair but a good feeling body?

  3. I have never gotten a professional massage but definitely would like to! My fav roasted veggie would have to be broccoli or asparagus, YUM!

  4. Massages can be so wonderful! Hopefully they’ll help with your morning pain and maybe the moodiness part won’t happen after this first one.

    My favorite roasted vegetables are broccoli, brussels sprouts, and mushrooms…I can’t get enough of them lately!

  5. I haven’t done Jillian’s workouts but I have several clients who have, and they all love it!

    I occasionally get massages, but it’s a love/hate thing. It’s kind of painful and kind of amazing!

  6. I used to have a membership at massage envy! I started going because my old job was stressful but I’ve since changed jobs and decided to cancel my membership to save a few extra bucks 🙂

    I LOVE Jillian! I’ve done 30 day shred and love it (I’ve even got my husband doing shred too…he has a love/hate relationship towards Jillian) I like shred it with weights too! If you have bright house there is an ondemand exercise channel with lots of free Jillian workouts for her other DVDs! I think it’s just level 1 but they are free. Plus there are all kinds of other workouts too.

    PS – you are not the only one who has no self control at Target 🙂 I have to limit myself to only about 1 visit per month too!

  7. Hey there! I found your blog through other blogs– Congrats on finally getting the massage! I got my first massage this year after I ran my first marathon- it was so incredible.

    ‘m doing a giveaway on my blog for the first time for the book “Diet Drama” by Nancy Redd. All about healthy body image and balance!

    You can enter via comment on my post here:
    http://www.beinghealthier.com/2011/03/14/giveaway-diet-drama/

    (it ends friday!)

  8. i’ve only had two massages in my life, but i LOVED both of them so much! it’s been a while though – i don’t remember mood swings though.

    i have the shred and love it! target it sooooo dangerous for me. i always spend way too much money too!

    i think i love all roasted vegetables! right now i’m loving button mushrooms, carrots, green peppers, and so much more!

  9. Oooo a massage! I have never had one, but one of my friends loves them. I have thought about getting one, but have just never followed through.

    I really like Jillian’s workouts. I alternate the Yoga, 30 Day Shred, and Shred it with weights one throughout the weeks. They were tough for me at first, but she gives you modifications and with a little practice you get the swing of things.

    I totally get the Target thing too. There is just too much good stuff there! 😉

Leave a Reply

