Oh, The Places I’ll Go!

Even though I was incredibly happy to catch up on some blog reading this morning I was feeling unmotivated to do anything I needed to do, a.k.a. workout, study for the two midterm exams I had tonight , start a paper…and the list goes on. I plopped in my bed and stared at my notes, not studied them. I was about to give up when I spotted my little stash of children’s book on the bookshelf next to my bed. Yes I still have kids books. I’m weird I know. I decided to read one…

I actually received it as a graduation present from a family who I’ve babysat for since there 1st child was born, Thank you Katy! It might seem very cheesy but sometimes taking a few minutes to read this very inspirational book makes me feel motivated!

Congratulations! Today is your day. You're off to Great Places! You're off and away!

You won't lag behind because you'll have speed. You'll pass the whole gang and you'll soon take the lead. Wherever you'll fly, you'll be the best of the best. Wherever you go, you'll top all the rest

Except when you don't. Because, sometimes, you won't.

You'll get mixed up, of course, as you already know. You'll get mixed up with many strange birds as you go. So be sure when you step, step with great care and tact remember that Life's A Great Balancing Act!

And will you succeed? YES! You will, indeed! (98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed!)

I actually found out that today was Dr. Seusss’ Birthday! Happy Birthday and thank you for this amazing book that always helps boost my confidence and reminds me that life is really a balancing act! After my me time, I did some quick studying, 30 minutes on the elliptical, 30 minute yoga video, shower, lunch, and made it to my first class just in time to take my midterm exam! As I was leaving class my professor gave me my graded speech outline…I got a 91%!

My speech topic!

The grade is amazing… what was even better were the comments my professor made about my speech! Yes, I’m about to brag.

“You’re  a natural presenter with the potential for creating magical presentations. You didn’t get flustered when your video didn’t work and your audience couldn’t tell that it made you nervous. No ‘mousing’ around, this presentation was a pleasure to observe, Keep up the good work as Disney needs more great presenters.”

I literally could not believe I was reading this! My professor has worked with Disney many times over the years, which isn’t an easy job to nab, and she is also a volunteer superviosr for many, many Disney sporting events, like the Princess Half Marathon! So she added this comment as well…

P.s. Congratulations on running the Princess! This is quite an accomplishment and you should be very proud of yourself!”

I like getting little pats on the back from my professors…what can I say?

 

Is this one of the ‘Places I’ll Go?’ In my dreams it is! It is so difficult to get hired at Disney but it is the place where wishes and dreams come true!

Questions for You!

Do you have a favorite Dr. Seuss book? I used to love Hop on Pop when I was little, too!

What’s one of the best compliments you’ve gotten? This has to be my best!

Dream Jobs? Disney Wedding planner, normal wedding planner, and bakery or tea shop owner! I have no other real aspirations, I’m still in the “I don’t know what to do with my life” phase!

Comment Here!

10 thoughts on “Oh, The Places I’ll Go!

  1. Great job on your speech! Someone gave me that book too and I thought it was strange. I just put it on the shelf for the baby when she gets older 🙂

    • You might have to be a giant slacker to ‘get’ the book…lol. Faith will love it but beware! Children love Dr. Suess books and will make you read them over and over until they can literally recite them back to you, I know this from babysitting experience. They also always choose the ones they know are longest before bedtime or nap-time, they’re sneaky like that!

  2. Congrats on your speech! It always nice getting confirmation from a professor that you kicked butt 🙂

    One of my best accomplishments, getting my black belt and finishing my first half marathon! I worked really hard to achieve both.

  3. My 4 y.o. is sooo into Dr. Seuss. We have this book called “Hop on Pop” and he reads it over and over. So cute. I love Oh, The Places You’ll Go! Such a whimsical graduation gift.

    Congratulations on running the Princess. I left on Saturday morning, probably just before you arrived!

Leave a Reply

