Lucky Number Seven

Today is Day 27 of The 30 Day Challenge and yesterday I was given the 7 Facts Blog Award!

If you’re wondering what the heck that is…it’s a little similar to my 30 Day Challenge except a fellow blogger passes it onto you and then you pass it along to 7 more bloggers, like chain mail but not annoying! Here’s the details:

  1. Link the person who awarded you – Thank you! Michelle at Living, Learning, and Earning!
  2. Post 7 random facts about yourself
  3. Pass the award along to 7 other bloggers

Call me a cheater if you wish but I am going to use my first ‘random’ fact to fulfill todays’ challenge question. The remainder of my random facts will be courtesy of photos from iPhone this week, it might get a little food centered, it happens!

1. A problem that you have had. I know it says had, as in past tense, but I’m going to tell you a problem that I have because I’ve had it for a very long time. This may TMI for some of you but if you really want to know me and “my daily” life you would need to know that I have some form of OCD. I know I have joked about it in past posts but in all seriousness I do. Here is definition of OCD that I found that might make it easier to understand than the True Life episodes you’ve seen on MTV.

Obsessive-compulsive disorder is an anxiety disorder in which people have unwanted and repeated thoughts, feelings, ideas, sensations (obsessions), or behaviors that make them feel driven to do something (compulsions).

Often the person carries out the behaviors to get rid of the obsessive thoughts, but this only provides temporary relief. Not performing the obsessive rituals can cause great anxiety.

Most of my OCD is centered around control. If I am in a situation where I feel very out of control of what is happening to me it often causes panic attacks. I am not heavy on physical compulsion, besides the use of hand sanitizer, for me my compulsions are the thoughts themselves which create a vicious circle. My main anxiety is a fear of being vomiting, gross right, but I connect that with a loss of control. I also struggle with controlling my eating habits and schedule, when I let them get out of control I have a lot of guilt and anxiety over it. Another fear I recently realized to be OCD related is some sort of tornado complex I must have. I often dream about tornadoes, I am always in a situation where I can see it coming and am struggling to get away from it. I was in the car the other day driving through a nasty storm and the wind kicked up all of the sudden, I had what I think may have been one of the biggest panic attacks I’ve ever had because I honestly thought I was about to be in a tornado. I am really trying to control my OCD by seeing a counselor, it’s not terrible but it’d be nice if it wasn’t there at all! There you have it, when I say I’m crazy I’m not kidding!

2. My favorite Girl Scout cookies are Caramel Delights! I was running into Publix on Wednesday night all sweaty and probably smelly after running 5 miles and FINALLY saw some girl scouts! I acted so excited I think I might have scared them.

Welcome back to my life!

No, I'm not sitting on my yoga mat eating cookies.

3. I’m currently on Operation Organize. I’ve been sort of slacking on this like cleaning, homework, other necessary life things. Yesterday I did some major cleaning damage! Too bad I can’t say the same on the homework front!

Exhibit 1. Closet before Operation Organize...scary.

Success!

Exhibit 2. Yes all that stuff on the floor was from last weekend=/

SO much better!

4. My newest meal obsession is centered around Trader Joe’s Soyaki.

Ah Trader Joe's...why are you so anti-Florida?

So I eat wonton salad toppers my themselves. Don't judge.

 

5.  I’m a really big dork, proven by what I did last night. In case you don’t follow me on Twitter, which you should, here is what I tweeted last night:

Feeling like a smarty pants after attending my first not required lecture of my college career! Thank goodness Egyptology is interesting…

This is what happens when you're trying not to look like you're taking a picture of yourself with your phone.

Oh, yes I was attending a lecture about Ancient Egyptian Graffiti from 7- 8:45 last night. After, I vacuumed my apartment and folded laundry before going to bed around 11. I’m a real partier.
6. I think roasted asparagus may be the best vegetable ever!

Why yes that is Olive Oil direct from Tuscany, thanks to my amazing Aunt Jen of course!

Roasted in olive oil straight from Tuscany! Thanks to my wonderful Aunt Jen!

7. In other cookie news, I think I’ve discovered a new favorite cookie. Chocolate Chip Meringue. My fellow Orlando Science Center intern Leanna made a double batch and was very upset when her first batch burnt and her second batch was crushed on the way to work. But it didn’t matter. They were AMAZING! She asked if I wanted the rest, because she’s sweet like that, but I said no because I was having a hard enough time resisting them all day long!

Sad Leanna=(

I don't care how crushed these are I would eat all the crumbs because these babies are amazing!

Join in on the fun!
1. Jamie or Courtney (or both?) at Cupcake Dynamite
2. Holley at Smart Snacking
4. Lisa at I’m an Okie
5. Courtney at Pancakes and Postcards
7. Jackie at Baking Charms
Hope none of you have already been tagged?
I am very late for a date with this guy…

Ta-Da! New Elliptical at my apartments gym!!

I’m actually thinking I might have to postpone in order to make it to the Science Center on time. If you’re in Orlando today and want to get in for $5 it’s Walmart Day at the Orlando Science Center but it’s apparently going to be a mad house! I’m so looking forward to it.

Questions for You?

Do you struggle with anything like OCD?
What is your favorite Girl Scout cookie?
What would you include in your 7 random facts?

8 thoughts on “Lucky Number Seven

  1. I did this on my blog too, it was fun to think of the 7 random facts!

    I’ve never had OCD tendencies (maybe my house would cleaner?) and I agree with you that tornadoes are scary!

    My favorite girl scout cookie is the peanut butter one, but I can’t remember the name. It’s not Tagalongs, it’s something else…

    • You like the Peanut Butter Sandwiches, a.k.a. Do-Si-Dos! You intrigued me I had to google it. Now I officially must buy Lemon Chalets as well! That is what I get for visiting the website and learning about all the cookies!

  2. I can completely relate to your first random fact – I’m kind of a control freak and it really does drive me nuts when my schedule gets screwed up. Sometimes I deal with it better than other times. I love samoas for girl scout cookies – delicious!

  3. Pingback: The end. « yourdailygrace

  4. Hi, Grace! I found your blog about OCD very interesting. (Of course, I find almost everything you blog about to be interesting!) I don’t have OCD, but I do have a fear of tornadoes. I read somewhere that tornado dreams are about sex, but that is another blog. When Rebecca was a baby, your uncle Jon and I drove to Colorado to see my sister. On the way there I was scared to travel through the mid-west because of tornados. Didn’t see any. Years later, back in Philly, I went to the ship restaurant on the Delaware. It was a stormy night in the summer. We were seated at a window. I happened to look at the river. I thought I saw something whirling on the river, but didn’t think too much of it. A short time later, I looked toward the Benjamin Franklin Bridge, and saw a tornado touching down across the river in Camden! I couldn’t believe I saw a tornado in Philly, but it was confirmed on the news that night. I think I actually saw it traveling on the river before it crossed the bridge into Camden. I was thrilled to have seen a tornado in such an unexpected place. I’m still afraid of tornados, but I guess it’s a more “healthy” fear since I’ve actually seen a real one.

Leave a Reply

